Dear Ralph Little…

He’s not big, but I think he may be clever…

Dear Ralph,

Something has been bothering me for some time now – how do actors learn their lines? I heard (from my friend George) that numerous devilish techniques are employed and wondered which you felt was the best? I ask mainly as I am keen to complain to my home insurance provider and feel a scripted performance will carry more weight than my usual improvised frippery.

George informs me that a popular technique is to put the script under your pillow so that the words will seep into your brain during sleep, is this ture? He also suggests taping various lines to chickens, ducks or lambs while herding them (George grew up on a rather underwhelming farm). Apparently this helped him achieve an A* in GCSE German.

Do you have any tips of your own? I do hope so.

Yours,

Herbert Rumbelow

Leave a comment